Wisconsin Fast Plants Network

To know a plant, grow a plant!

We recently received the following note from a student who would like to share data with others about the hairy trait. We invited this student to join our network to see if others on the network might have some interesting data and/or experiences to share about similar studies with Fast Plants. Here is text from the note, and attached is the data that was sent along with it.
We hope this kind of data sharing will grow on our network!

Hi, I am a student at Ames High School. I am currently doing a biology science project using your plants. My teacher had these plants and he recommended that I should use these plants as they are easy to do projects with. I am currently trying to artificially select plants to make the "hairiest plant". I am going through different generations and selecting the hairiest to continue breeding. I currently have data for 2 generations, and I am on my third generation. I was wondering if you guys had any data that you will be able to share with me concerning hairy plants. I have all the basic information on the plants from the site. I have done two generations and wanted to compare how it was going, since some of my numbers did not look correct. I would like to share both my data and the data that I could get, to compare both for my presentation. If you guys don't have any data on your hands, is there a way to contact somebody else to exchange data with? My project would be great enhanced if I am able to get more data if possible, and my teacher says sharing data is allowed. Thanks in advance. I will attach my data for both my generations just in case.

Views: 339

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I've attached a couple of images of graphs from work some of my students did back in the 90's. You'll find they are very similar to the data provided in the hairy selection activities described on the Fastplant web site.